Dental Practice Act (DPA) Homestudy Course
Our 2 Hour Dental Practice Act course is designed to meet the Dental Board’s regulation mandate for either unlicensed dental or orthodontic assistants or licensed dental assistants for licensure renewal. It includes information from the California Code of Regulations 1600 and provides information on violation acts again the Dental Practice Act. Emphasis shall be on the new statutory requirements affecting the dental assisting profession, as well as dental hygiene and dentistry.
Information will include:
- Governing bodies for dentistry
- Statute and regulations
- Utilization and scope of practice for dental auxiliaries
- Laws governing drug prescriptions
- California cite and fine program
- Requirements for revocation and suspensions
- Protocol on licensure renewal
- Mandatory reporting requirements
Click here to fill out a registration form for the Dental Practice Act Course.
Click on the yellow button below to print out information about this class
Important Information for Unlicensed Dental or Orthodontic Assistants
As an unlicensed dental or orthodontic assistant, you need to complete these requirements only once. You do not have to renew them.
What Dental Practice Act courses must I complete?
Unlicensed Dental or Orthodontic Assistant or a dental assistant preparing to take the RDA examination, the following is required:
If you have been in a dentist’s continuous employment for 120 days or more and you do not have a license, you must complete the following courses within a year of the date of employment.
In addition, if you are applying to take the RDA examination, you must also submit proof of completion of:
- Two hour Dental Board approved course California Dental Practice Act
- Eight hour Infection Control
- CPR Certification sponsored by American Heart Association or Red Cross
On this information page, you will find out how to order a home study program for the 2 hour required Dental Practice Act course.
What are the Requirements for the Dental Practice Act Homestudy Course?
- Once we receive your registration form and fee, we will e-mail you a comprehensive syllabus, written final examination and answer sheet.
- You are to download and print the syllabus, examination and answer sheet.
- This type of educational program allows you to review the material at your own pace.
- Once you feel comfortable with the material, you complete the answer written examination on the answer sheet. You then fax in your answer sheet to 760-200-2850.
- You have 7 days from the date of purchase to complete the course and examination. After 7 days, if you have not completed the requirements, you will be required to retake the course at the tuition rate.
- Once you pass the examination with a 75% score or higher, a Certificate of Completion will be e-mailed to you immediately.
What must I do if I have lost my certificate?
If you lose your certificate, you must send us a letter requesting a duplicate copy. In this letter, please specify when you completed this homestudy program and where you wish the certificate to be mailed. The cost for this service is $25.
How do I reach EFDAA if I have any questions?
The easiest and most efficient way to contact us is via the e-mail system. Contact us at email@example.com. If you wish to reach us by phone, call 760-200-2851.